California Rantings

Sunday, Dec. 31, 2006 - 7:52 a.m.

So yesterday I donated blood (I was bribed with cookies and movie passes). My Aunt and I usually go whenever the blood mobile is at the movie theater. As I was lying there, being drained of a pint of O negative, I wondered how many people had my blood flowing through their veins. I have never had to receive blood, but I would wonder whom it came from. (Yes, my brain should be working on something helpful, like curing cancer, but no -- this is what nine years of college brain thinks about during "down time.")
I am so looking forward to 2007. 2006 really sucked. I still pick up the phone to call my Grandmother, only to realize that she died in Februaury. (I do have her number saved on my caller id though). My health last year SUCKED. However...I still had a better year than most people. I n 2006 I was never:
Homeless
Abused
Hungry (the opposite, in fact, to a sad degree)
In a war zone
I was talking to a woman at church yesterday. I went to school with her son, who is now in the military in Iraq. He has been in the military since we graduated (I refuse to admit how many years ago), and I can only imagine how scary it must be to have a child in a warzone. I grew up iin a military family, and I know how scary it can be.
I am hoping that, in 2007, I will learn to be a bit more forgiving. I can honestly say I am "not ready to forgive" only two people. My Dad and my former Aunt. My Dad for being a drunken junkie who wrote me off a decade ago, and my former Aunt who abandonded her kids to run off with a married man she met on the internet. Both of them gaslighted and lied to me, and I know that I need to get over it. Although I would never allow either of them in my life again, I have to remember that the opposite of love is indifference.
TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com