California Rantings

Wednesday, Jun. 22, 2005 - 11:58 a.m.

Ah, home again. We flew in late last night, and I am actually at work this morning. I know--big shock there. Being gone for 12 days only took 45 mins to "catch up" on everything (other than returning a few e-mails). Yes, I am that vital to my job. In fact I only had two "business related pieces of mail" to read. Go me!

No, it wasn't me who broke into Sandhurst to stalk PRINCE HARRY. Although I do apprectiate all of you who e-mailed and called me offering bail money. Had I know it was that easy to get that close to him, I sooooo would have been there. Luckily AVA-REBORN and I can vouch for each others whereabouts that day, since we were together all day! (I swear it!) Now that I am stateside again, the royal family can sleep soundly knowing that he is safe!

I have met two people from Diaryland. CHICAGOJO and AVA-REBORN. Both of these talented diarists risked life and limb to meet up with me while I was on "vacation." (Okay, technically CHICAGOJO and I were on vacation together, but what happens in Vegas --stays in Vegas, so no additional comment there!)

AVA-REBORN was wonderful enough to bring her daughter "K" to London to meet up with me! It is always wonderful when someone invites you into their "real" life away from Diaryland. I love being able to put faces behind the "writers on Diaryland." Ava-Reborn and her daughter K sacraficed an entire Tuesday to entertain a diarist from "across the pond." (And an American no less). AvaR was not at all what I expected -- (it is funny that we both felt the same way about how misleading our descriptions of ourselves are!) I was not expecting to meet such a young-looking (yes, you would be carded here for sure!) petite woman!

It is such a nice feeling when you meet someone for the first time, and manage to spend an hour standing in a train station talking a mile a moment! I honestly felt like I had known her for years by the end of the day.

I was the lucky one that K chose to sit next to both at lunch and on the Underground! We spent most of the day in Regent Park (no celebrity sightings though) chatting on a bench while K played the afternoon away. I was amazed at how similar we really were. (No lulls in the conversation, let me tell you!) I was actually sad when I had to switch trains and head back to the hotel.

Say what you may--I would rather meet up with a friend while on vacation than seeing touristy sites! I hope we meet up again in December or so when I come back to the UK!

I am off to take a nap!

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com