California Rantings

Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2005 - 6:24 p.m.

How bad is it when you send the following e-mail to the sales department instead of your friend Shawna?

"What is the plan for Sunday? I can always bring SEX IN THE CITY (but only if Shawna brings a few stuffed animals to help with the props) :-)"

Damn address book!

My Mother THINKS that she is funny. She is one of eight kids and always tries to be the "funny one." I will be the first to admit that I come from a strange family, and we are always trying to pull of the best "joke" on another unsuspecting family member. This is what my Mother (I think it was her--granted I have no proof yet) did to me yesterday.

A little background...I am going to London in June with my Mother and my cousin who is 13. Although we have booked the hotel, we have not yet booked the flight. While working from home yesterday I got a call on my cellphone that went something like this.

Phone rings with a local number I do not recognize, but that is not uncommon due to my work.

Me: Hello.

Mystery Person (female) with a British Accent: Is Rebecca there please?

No one who knows me calls me Rebecca, but I digress.

Me: This is she.

MP: Hello Rebecca I am calling on behalf of the British Embassy and we are contacting people who are traveling to the UK within the next year. We at the consulat are concerned about the impression that Prince Harry has made on the US and are looking for Americans for an informal meet and greet with him in 2005. When will you be in the UK?

Mind you I am trying not to laugh, but I am too stunned to respond.

Me: Well, that depends. If Duran Duran are only playing in Birmingham on May 26th, then I will have to fly in before that. If they have later dates then I am flying in around the 12th.

MP: Okay then, if you know you will be in after the 12th, then may we schedule you in for the 15th.

Me: Sure, but let me check my schedule first. Please hold. Ummmmm, the 15th would be fine.

MP: Okay, any special food needs? Our records indicate from your last flight to the UK that you are a begetarian, is that still correct?

Me: Yes, but no alcohol, I think if Harry and I were drinking together nothing good would come of it.

MP: Lovely, lovely. Alright then. I will send you the proper paperwork from Washington DC. You should receive something in the mail within a week.

Me: Looking forward to it.

MP: Thank you and good bye.

So, either my Mother has something sneaky up her sleeve, or I have a date with Harry on the 15th of June. Just what the Royal Family needs--another American divorcee.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com