California Rantings

Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2004 - 4:08 p.m.

Egads. 2005 New Years Resolution #1--Update my diaryland journal more than twice a month.

My Mother spent the holiday in Haw@ii with my step-father. Needless to say, he and I are not very close. He "sprained his ankle" in HI and my Mother had to wheel him around the entire island for a week. I told her she should have sent him home, but she didn't. Now she is selling one of the timeshares there because she does not want to go back for a LONG time.

When I was growing up, my Mother was not huge on sympathy for illness. I started getting migrains in my teens and I learned not to complain horribly about them (on the flip side my father is a hypocondriac who suffered with everything from headaches / brain tumors (not real ones) to cancer (that mysteriously cleared up at the drs office). Basically I had one parent that was always sick and one parent who did not believe in anyone ever really being sick.

Now all I hear is "your poor step-dad and his ankle" and "your poor step-dad and his INSERT ANY DISEASE KNOWN TO MAN in this space." I finally told her today that I wanted her to show him the same sympathy that I got in childhood. Needless to say she was not too thrilled to hear that. Maybe tomorrow I will whine all day about having cramps or something.

On a side note...in one of the 200 times my Dad was in rehab he had a psychotherapist contact me to have a three way call between myself, Dad and the Dr. Knowing my Dad as well as I did at the time, I agreed, and when my Dad started his "whoa is me speal" I asked him point blank "I thought the brain tumor would have killed you by now."

Forgetting that his shrink was on the phone he started SCREAMING at me about how I needed to start taking him seriously and not to mock his illnesses. The shrink reminded Dad that "screaming was unheathy" and asked me to list all of the "diseases" my Dad suffered from. I recently found the list.


Brain Cancer


Brain Tumors


Lung Cancer


Thyroid "Problems"


Liver Failure


Bi-polarism


Asbestosis


Migrains


The shrink was shocked and my Dad finally admitted to "self diagnosising" most of the above listed problems. 15 years later he is still alive (as far as I know).

And they wonder why I was a psych major :-)

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com