California Rantings

Thursday, Aug. 12, 2004 - 3:46 p.m.

Years ago (like in the year 2000) I had a friend in jail. For a long time. Since my Dad's family is always either:

1) in jail

2) just got out of jail

or

out on bond awaiting trail

having just one friend in jail seemed like no big deal. I used to get up on Sunday morning and go visit my friend in the local county jail. No big deal. Usual there was NO ONE in the waiting room at 8:30 on a Sunday morning, so I could enjoy some peace and quit while they ran my background check.

One Sunday morning I ran into someone that works with me. An independent contractor that occasionally comes in to the office, but a "co-worker" just the same. Although we were the only two in the waiting room, neither of us said anything to each other.

I have not seen her in about a year--she just came in to pick up supplies and popped in to say "Hello" to me. It reminded me of all of the Sunday I spent at the local jail, passing the time away.

When my friend got sent to the "big house" one of the guards told me he would miss me and that he appreciated how I was alway nice and polite and never screamed at him.

Years later he got engaged to a friend of mine.

Sometimes you meet the nicest people in jail :-)

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com