California Rantings

Thursday, Jul. 29, 2004 - 1:28 p.m.

Okay, so next month marks the five year "anniversary" where my ex left and we decided to divorce. I am officially marking the part where the amount of time I was married and the amount of time we have been apart is the same. Everything seems like a lifetime ago. The strange thing is, it doesn't really bother me anymore, which, within itself. a milestone.

The weekend we split-up was the weekend of my ten year high school reunion. At that reunion I met up with a kid I grew up with. He lived down the street from me, and was a year behind me in school. We thought about getting married at one time, but never did.

I told him I was getting divorced and he told me he had split from his long time girlfriend the month before. Now, being a "good girl" I told him I could do nothing "romantic related" until I was divorced.

Believe me, I was tempted, but didn't do anything. We exchanged phone numbers and talked about getting together with the "neighborhood crew" in a few weeks and striking up a friendship again.

He called me three weeks later to tell me that, at the reunion, he drank too much (what ever), met up with his ex (who was a waitress at the event), and got her pregnant, and that they were going off to get married.

Fine, whatever, no loss. (They are still married and have two sons now -- neither of whom would have been born had I gone home with him).

I have no idea why I am thinking about this today. It is amazing how small decisions can have huge effects on life.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com