California Rantings

Tuesday, Apr. 06, 2004 - 12:14 p.m.

I have the worst history when it comes to taxes. I always file on time and always pay WAY TOO MUCH, but getting everything filed and taken care of is always a problem. For example:

2003: My office was broken into an my computer was stolen...inside of the computer was my TAX ACCOUNTING BACKUP DISK. I had four days to recreate my entire 2002 financials.

This year my laptop died and the backup was corrupted. I spent two days getting everything ready for my appointment yesterday only to show up at my accountants office and have a power outage for most of the city of Vallejo. I sat in my accountants office for 30 mins waiting for the power to come on. I left with taxes undone. I have to reschedule.

I swear...I think God is trying to tell me not to pay my taxes anymore.

TTFN

Sunday, Apr. 04, 2004 - 7:58 p.m.

Ahhh...04/04/04--what a date :-)

Strange day today. MALE READERS--TO FOLLOW IS A "FEMALE SUBJECT" OF SORTS :-) First off..a little "pre-info" on the day. My cousin is 12 and her Mother moved to another state leaving her and her brother with their Dad here in CA. Luckily, 85% of my maternal family lives here, and we are all trying to pitch in a help out during this tough time. We spend a lot of time together, but there is no replacement for a real parent.

My cousin asked if I would take her to church, because she wanted to start going (for the first time in her life) and we went to one of our two "family churches." (Most of my family only acknowledge church on Christmas or Easter, but a few are "very active" in the church". So we went, and had a nice time--as far as much of a good time you can have a church.

After lunch, and as I was driving her home, I asked her if she needed to go "female shopping" just in case she needed "supplies." She agreed and we decided to get together on Wednesday and go "shopping." I feel so bad, but I know I would never have been able to go to my Dad and ask him about the best brands of "feminine supplies" to buy. Not even know. (Of course I haven't spoken to my Dad in 10 years, so that would make it even worse...but I digress).

As she was getting out of the car, she turned to me and said, "I am really glad that we are close enough for me to be comfortable talking to you and shopping for "supplies." She hugged me, left the car and walked into her house.

My heart broke. Really broke. I really do not know what to do, other than just be there for her, a phone call and six blocks away, but still. I remember when she was born, and now she is growing up, and facing tough growing adjustments without her mother.

Her mother did not have to leave (as is going to war or something), she simply wanted to "live life on her own for a while." I couldn't leave my two cats behind, much less to loving kids.

If anyone has ANY words of advise...please let me know.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com