California Rantings

Monday, Feb. 09, 2004 - 12:09 p.m.

So, how did Becky spend her weekend?????? Working, which kinda sucked, AND bawling her eyes out watching the Discovery Channel. Saturday morning there was a show on the "war dogs" of vietnaum, and how the US government would not let their handlers bring them home after their "tour was over." The interviewed former dog handlers and how their dogs had saved their lives and then were abandoned to fend for themselves when the war ended. I bawled. I sobbed. Poor Louis was sleeping next to me and was subject to a rude awakening from a sound sleep by my clinging on to him and sobbing all over his "just cleaned" fur. Never knew what hit him.

I had no idea that people donated their PETS to vietnaum, and that thousands of lives were saved by these war dogs. I found the following websites: War Dog Memorial

and

Military Working Dog Foundation who aid in current "retired" military dog placement and with purchasing supplies for current working military dogs. I did not know that many "dog handlers" have to pay for their own "dog expenses" (other than food).

Maybe sending money will make me feel better.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com