California Rantings

Thursday, Jul. 03, 2003 - 1:39 p.m.

I have been on a "D-land" break for a few days. No reading, no writing. Not sure why.

When I was growing up, my best friend lived two houses down. Her family immigrated over from Italy when she was six. It took two years to get permission for them to come over "the pond." Her uncle had to sign paperwork stating that he would be financially responsible for them and her Dad had to have a job waiting for him. They all learned English within six months, and they worked very hard to "earn their citizenship." She took her citizenship test soon after turning 18. Her parents always went out of their way to make sure that the kids understood that if they screwed up, the could be deported. That is what immigrants were like (to me, as a child).

No that I am employed in the state of California, I see things so much differently. I get frustrated with the huge amount of people who are living here, but were born elsewhere. People who try to get jobs with other peoples social security #'s so they can collect welfare on another. People who SCREAM at me on the phone because my Spanish is not as fluent as it could be and want me to explain to them "Why" I am not bilingual. (Hello--either are you). I am getting frustrated.

This is not a "racist rant" although it could be taken that way. There are idiots in all cultures. I realize that people move to another country out of desperation. I just want to know why is it that some people are forced to follow the rules and take years of paperwork to become "legal" and others simply manipulate the system to a point where nothing they do is legal.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com