California Rantings

Friday, Feb. 28, 2003 - 6:07 p.m.

Debt as of today: $254,267.37

Cost of a Gallon of Gas: $1.89

What I am reading: Catcher in the Rye

What I am listening to: Some strange Scottish internet radio station

Website of the day: Operation Uplink Collecting money to buy phone cards for military service members and their families

I think we are beyond the point of not going to war. I understand that war is an unfortunate "necessary evil" that has plagued our country since its beginning. I grew up in a military family, and I understand the sacrifices necessary when we go to war. My Dad fought in Vietnam, and it had a definite influence on the rest of his life. He was also stationed in Hofn, Iceland for a year while my Mom and I stayed in California. I live four miles from Travis AFB, and many of my friends and / or their spouses are being deployed.

I am grateful that people today are choosing to be �anti-war� yet �pro-military.� I can not stress enough how important it is for everyone to do whatever they can to help military families and service members overseas. If you appreciate your freedom, and want to be a part of the �military effort� (not necessarily the �war effort�) PLEASE CLICK HERE and pick something on the list to help. Contact the USO and see what you can do to help. I have always admired people who do jobs that I can�t. Police, firefighters, EMTs, military.

Be as critical as you want of this country. Protest if you want, write letters to the editor complaining about how the country is being run. Tell the world you are in favor of / against the war, but work behind the scenes to make life easier for the people and the families of the brave men and women who are willing to sacrifice their lives for the right for us, as Americans, to have the freedoms and liberties that we enjoy and exercise every day.

We are, as a nation, who we are because of our military, and the sacrifices made by service people and their families. Do what you can. If you do not know anyone in the military, please contact Operation Military Support. It never hurts to help someone, even someone you have not yet met.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com