California Rantings

Friday, Feb. 14, 2003 - 10:16 a.m.

There are times when I wish I did could just say what I would like to at work. I actually had this conversation last night with someone who works for me. A little background...people must submit orders via computer. People who do not have computers can come here to the office and either we will di it for them, or they can use a computer and do their own. Living in CA, we have a lot of Spanish speaking people who work for us. We have a translator here during work hours, but not at night, so they often bring translators with them at night. Anyway:

Me:(to her teen aged son who was translating). I need your account number and orders.

Her: I do not have an account number.

Me: You need an account number to order. How do you spell your last name?

Her: Spells last name.

Me: Your account # is XXXXXXXXXX.

Her: LIAR! YOu must have forged my name.

I go to the file cabinet and hand her the paperwork.

Her: So maybe I did sign this, but you should not mislead me like that.

Me: I need your orders.

Her: Do you speak Spanish?

Me: No. ( I do, but not well enough to talk to her about business, and her son is translating, so no big deal to me). Her: Why not? You live in California--you should speak Spanish. You are discriminating against me by only speaking English.

At this point I wanted to say "Why don't you speak English? You came from another country and yet you want me to learn your language? Hell no!" But instead I said "No, we have translators during the day, and you brought a translator." Her: You need to learn Spanish.

Whatever. She also complained about:

the fact that she has to pay sales tax

the fact that her calculator is different than mine

that she had to pay her bill

that she had to pre-pay for her order (like everyone else) and

that I would not pay for her order (with my own money) to make up for the fact that I did not speak Spanish.

Granted--she acts like only 2% of the people that I deal with that are not from this country, but she really pissed me off. I am her boss and I can not say anything to her without fear of a lawsuit. I was thinking at the time that she was trying to get me to say something back at her, but I refused.

Just truly strange.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com