California Rantings

Saturday, Jan. 25, 2003 - 9:30 a.m.

I HAD A STRANGE PHONE CALL...

yesterday. I am supposed to teach a training class today at 5:00. I called the woman to confirm the class (she is the one who requested extra training at her house). She answers the phone. I have known her for a few months, and I know her voice on the phone, but I also know that she screens her calls and sometimes says she is not home when she answers the phone. Every other time I called, after she denied she was there and I told her who I was she would say "Oh, hi, it's me." But yesterday it went like this:

Her: Hello.

Me: Hello is Mary there?

Her: She isn't home right now, can I take a message?

Me: Yes, this is Becky and I am calling to confirm our appointment tomorrow at 5:00.

Her: I am not sure what time she will be back, but I will give her a message.

At his point I am not sure what in the hell she is talking about. She knows who it is, and yet she is still taking a message for herself.

Me: Please have her call me at home at ###-#### to confirm.

Her: Okay, I will give her the message.

Okay. Fine. Call me later. Maybe she was busy or something. Did she call me to confirm? No. Not last night, and not this morning. I am going to call at 10:00 and if she does not call me, I am cancelling. It is just bizarre. I am her boss. She works for me. I was tempted to say "If you are being held at gunpoint please say "Yes" now so I can call the police, but didn't.

I know her, and her mom. Why in the hell would she deny that she was home and then not call back.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com