California Rantings

Monday, Jun. 17, 2002 - 10:15 a.m.

I am Friday's Child

What day are you?

MONDAY ALREADY?

And thus begins another work week. Amazing how quickly the weekend goes by when you are procrastinating and getting nothing done. I did go shopping though. I bought Bridget Jones�s Diary on DVD and a few CD�s to replace the ones I gave up in the divorce. I am beginning to believe that people in the retail service industry will never get higher wages if they continue to hire people who no nothing about what they are selling. Granted I worked in the retail industry, and I understand how difficult it is to hire people who know what the are doing, and are willing to work for low wages, but at least they could no something about their product. For example�I was looking for a specific DVD and when the sales clerk asked me if I found everything I was looking for, I told him:

No, I was looking for MURIEL�s WEDDING on DVD.

HIM: Okay. I have never heard of it.

End of conversation. No �Let me look it up for you,� or �Would you like me to order it for you,� or anything like that. Just �okay.� Apparently if he has never heard of it, it doesn�t exist and therefore why bother to confirm that it ever existed. Bizarre if you ask me. This is why I have always believed in a commission structure for retail work. If he would have made an extra $$$ for finding it for me, or for ordering it or whatever, it may have been worth it to him. Needless to say I will have to order it online or find it somewhere else.

THE BEGINNING OF THE LAST WEEK�

in my old apartment. I am supposed to pick up the keys to my new place a week from today. I still don�t believe it. I did go shopping at PIER 1 IMPORTS for furniture ideas and was overwhelmed with the things I liked. Usually I get very disappointed with the lack of selection, but they just opened a new P1Imports in town and it is mostly furniture, so I am very happy about that. I need a new bedroom set and more furniture for the living room. Nothing like spending more and more money.

I read an article this weekend about how California has the highest number of household with multiple families living in one dwelling (or something like that). It talked about Santa Ana and how some three bedroom houses have 20 people living in them, and now they take turns sleeping in bedrooms and using the kitchen etc. It really doesn�t surprise me. Two bedroom apartments are going for $1500 a month now, and I can see how it would take several people to pay that. I can remember when $1500 a month bought you a 2500 sq. foot house (with a huge yard) and a pool. No more.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com