California Rantings

Monday, Jun. 03, 2002 - 2:04 p.m.


Which Grunge Band Are You?

MY DAY PART 2

Still at work, still typing a lot to create the illusion of hard work and diligence. So far, so good. Anyway, I have a battle with �a delivery company.� When our �normal driver� is on shift, there is no problem, but when someone else is in charge everything always goes wrong. I live next door to where I work, so if I am not home, the �normal driver� will go next door. I got the slip for a package on Thursday, and it said next delivery �approximately 2:00-5:00 p.m.� No problem, except for the fact that the delivery attempt was at 10:30. I called the company and asked why they marked 2-5, when it was earlier than that.

Them: It is just an approximate time.

Me: Then why do you mark a time, at all. If I have to sign for it personally, then I have to know what time to be there.

Them: Yes, but they do not know what they will be delivering in your area, and do not know when they will be by.

Me: Then why have a time mark slot at all?

Them: It is just an approximation, but not a guarantee.

Bleck. I just can�t win. At least I got my package today. I love presents on a Monday morning.

WHAT I NEED TO BUY

1) Washer and Dryer set

2) New TV and DVD player

3) Fireplace Set

4) Three tables

5) Queen size bedding stuff

Money, money, money, bills, bills, bills. I am considering getting TiVo, because two people I know have it and love it, but I know I would be sitting around watching TV all weekend, which would be bad.

WHY I AM A PACKRAT

I have come to the conclusion that I do not like to throw things out because I need the reminders of being important to someone at sometime. I was thinking about the Keanu Reeves cutout, and I think I kept it for all of these years because the person who gave it to me was a very good friend when I was in college. I haven�t spoken to her since 1995, but we were the best of friends as undergraduate students. I keep strange things simply because of the person who gave them to me. Even though they have no function and no purpose (like old t-shirts my ex-husband used to wear that he gave to me for when I need �painting clothes.�). I am not sure if this is pathetic or not. Why do I feel that I need something physical as �proof� that someone once cared about me? Who am I trying to prove this too? Why do I need to be surrounded by �things from my past?� I think I am afraid that if I get rid of them, then I will miss them like I miss the person that they remind me of.

TTFN

Monday, Jun. 03, 2002 - 9:43 a.m.

The Castaway Quiz

deems me:

Mary Ann

You radiate wholesome goodness. This drives men wild. Sure Ginger may get all the attention at first, but in the end, it's you they really want.

I THOUGHT I WOULD BE THE PROFESSOR

Ah, Monday morning and I am back at work. Working hard as usual. (Snicker, snicker). Luckily we get reports on Monday morning, so a lot of typing makes it look like I am really working!! The garbage man was not happy with all of the stuff I threw out over the weekend, but oh well.

STRANGE THINGS I FOUND

During my archeological dig in my back bedroom I have found the following things I did not remember I had

1) I lifesized cardborad cutout of Keanu Reeves from the movie SPEED. (This was a graduation present from a college friend of mine who worked at a movie rental place.) I don't remember the joke behind it though--something to do with them telling me we were going to see SPEED when they actually took me to a Disney movie.

2)A Vanilla Ice autograph (Also a gag gift, since I can't stand him)

3)Love letters from my evil ex who got someone else pregnant and thus ending our 7 year relationship (Yes, the same guy who had his storage unit auctioned off)

4) Jar of pickles (From who knows when--there isn't an expiration date, but I am not going to risk it

5) Twelve bottles of lotion and three shampoos.

Sad but true. The sad thing is...I still have 20 boxes left to go through.

TTFN


Take the Hey Hey, Which Monkee Are You? Quiz.

Sunday, Jun. 02, 2002 - 9:19 a.m.

NO QUIZ TODAY

Sorry, I have been too busy to find a quiz this morning. I am still throwing out things, and have found that sometimes it is easier to go through the boxes and simply pull out what I want and throw out the rest. I am finding things I did not remember having, and have found enough lotion to last me fifty years.

I can not believe how much crap I have been able to accumulate over the course of my lifetime, which is what makes it difficult to go through. Reminders of good times in my life and bad times in my life. Every box is a reminder of something that was once important to me. Although I don't believe I need all of the newspapers from 1999 that I found in a box in the back of the room. I have a lot of pictures to go through and sort out. Pictures going back to high school. I better get back to work before I lose my enthusiasm.

TTFN

Saturday, Jun. 01, 2002 - 9:07 a.m.

You are Fozzie!
Wokka Wokka! You love to make lame jokes. Your sense of humor might be a bit off, but you're a great friend and can always be counted on.
.

WHITE RABBIT

And thus begins the moving process, well the packing anyway. It is offically the month that I move. Granted it won't be for another three weeks, but still. I can officially say that I am moving "this month."

THE BENEFITS OF ALL THE WATER

I got on the scale this morning because it is the first of the month and am down 7 pounds from last week. (Starting this month I am only going to weigh myself on the 1st and 15th). If I can make it through the weekend I will be soda free for one week. Like an idiot I drank too much last night. I hardly ever drink anymore. While cleaning out the cabinets last night, I found Kahlua and Champagne. There wasn't too much Kahlua left, so I made Kahlua and coffee (to get rid of it so I wouldn't have to pack it). Then I drank a bottle of champagne (for the same reason). I haven't had anything to drink since November. Luckily all of the water I drank all week prevented me from dehydrating, so no hangover. No more drinking for me.

A QUIZ WHORE

Lilybow, you have gotten me hooked on the quizes. I am glad that I am Fozzie Bear and not Miss Piggy though. That would have been a terrible start to this weekend! I am off to finish throwing my useless junk out. Wish me luck!

TTFN

Friday, May. 31, 2002 - 8:29 a.m.

Find your inner No Doubt Song! by Brit


Thanks Lilybow!!! Now, if I can interpret "average" as "normal" I can officially say I tested "normal" on something!!

I LOVE FRIDAYS

I do, I really do. Not only is it payday, but I only have one appointment this weekend and I am stoked! No date though, had to reschedule for sometime next week. I have to remind myself that I am moving in three weeks and can't sit around watching the DISCOVERY CHANNEL and LIFETIME movies all weekend.

WATER WATER EVERYWHERE

Day four without caffeine or soda. Shocking actually. I still hate the taste of water (or lack there of) but am getting used to it. I do need to get my lazy butt to the gym though.

MEMORIES OF A FORMER JOB

I ran into someone I used to work with at my last job in the "telecommunications business." We were talking about a former customer who really hated me. Primarily because he yelled a lot and that did not intimidate me, and that bothered him. I used to cut out newspaper clipping of our "customers" when they would be arrested or shot or something, and keep them up on the wall in the breakroom. This customer once called me from intensive care to tell me that if I cut his service off (for non-payment) he would kill me. WARNING: Graphic language to follow.

Him: I need an extention because I was shot and will be in the hospital for another month.

Me: You are already a month past due, and your girlfriend was in here yesterday, so she could have paid it then, instead of bothering my sales force.

Him: Listen C--t, don't make me come down there and teach you a lesson about respect.

Me: Go ahead, unplug yourself and come down here. I could really use the laugh(I could hear the machines beeping in the background). That is, if you can get past the police watching your door.

Him: Are you calling me a liar?

Me: No, but if you do come down here, don't forget the money to pay your bill. CLICK.

Why am I telling you this lovely story about my evil past?? Because I am a completely different person now, and probably would have been nicer. The problem with being nicer is that your stories aren't as funny to talk about. Moral of the story--never call someone a C--t if you want them to do something for you.

TTFN

P.S. Periscopeboy--where are you?

TO SHOW HOW MUCH WORK I AM DOING TODAY....


.* which friend are you?

I am linus
Which Peanuts Character Are You Quiz

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com