California Rantings

Monday, May. 27, 2002 - 5:27 p.m.

MEMORIAL DAY

Memorial Day reminds me of my Mom's friend whose (only) son died in Vietnam. He was 20. She had a shrine in her living room with his pictures and medals and things like that. The first time we went to her house my Mom told me not to ask her about who he was, because she still had a hard time talking about him. I was thinking today about all of the things that I have been through since I was 20, and all of the things I would have missed had I died when I was 20. My marriage, the birth of 10 cousins, and meeting too many friends to think of. I can not imagine what it would be like to give your life for what you believe in.

I have always had a lot of respect for people who do jobs that I could never do. Military, police, firefighters, EMT's. People who are willing to give their lives to help and protect others.

On a different note...

OUT WITH THE OLD...

I am trying to throw things out. I know I have no need for the newspaper from March 2001 that I found in a bag in my back bedroom. At this point I could throw everything in the room out and would not miss what was in there, and yet I feel the need to go through everything before throwing anything out. I actually broke my shredder getting rid of old bills and things like that. Even though today is garbage day, my garbage can is full and I haven't made a dent yet. The cats are very confused because I am sure that they didn't even know that room existed because it has been sealed off fo so long.

THE END OF DATE MAN

Rumour has it that he went out with someone else this weekend. Thank God! Let him focus on someone else now. I have mentioned him twice and he has not called, so I think it is safe to begin answering my phone again :-) A year ago my uncle introduced me to a friend of his who referred to Vegans as "vegetarian nazi's" which really bothered me. (Apparently he dated a vegan once before and he felt that she used her picky eating habits to get attention). At the time he did not know I was a vegetarian, he just assumed I wasn't. I told him that I was a vegan and he asked me if I ate fish. Bleck. That was a year ago. Apparently he asked my uncle if I was still mad about his vegan statement. In a word, yes. Why would anyone want to spend time with someone who mocks their entire belief system? This is what our last conversation went like:

Him: Are you going to hear the band play tonight?

Me: No, I have a migraine

Him: Well, if you would only drink milk, you wouldn't have headaches.

Me: Except for the fact that I am lactose intolerant, and I would get sick from the milk.

Him: No, just drink milk more often and your body will learn how to process milk and then you won't have headaches anymore.

Me: What medical school did you graduate from?

Him: None. It is just that I do drink milk, and don't get headaches, and you don't drink milk and have headaches, so it seems obvious that that is what you need.

Me: But I used to drink milk and I still got headaches.

Him: I think migraines are like PMS--you only get it when you think about it, just think about something else and it will go away.

Me: Is that how you get rid of your PMS?

Blah, blah, blah.

Come to think of it, I am grateful that I am single!

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com