California Rantings

Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2002 - 8:12 a.m.

CONFESSION IS GOOD FOR THE SOUL

I am not Catholic, but all of my friends were, so I used to go to Mass every Sunday. I got into trouble for going to confession and taking communion so I stopped going. So, it has been 15 years since my last confession.

What am I confessing??? I have become a slug. I got on the scale this morning, and have gained three pounds. I am back up to 150. I have not been to the gym in two weeks. I have fallen off the wagon. Instead of having 20 pounds to lose, I officially have 25 See, I focus my writing on firing people and being mean to former co-workers and the Karma van has come to run me over. So, needless to say, I am back on the wagon.

So, I actually went to the gym this morning (luckily I remembered where it was). I am back on my vegan version on Slimfast for the next week, and am off to the store to buy fresh fruits and veggies. My body won�t know what hit it. The weather is finally getting warmer, and if I don�t do something soon, I will not be able to fit into any shorts!

Back to drinking water (Yuck!) and going to the gym (Yuck!) and watching what I eat (Yuck!). I am back on the good eating wagon. I am officially old now. Pretty soon I will be walking around the mall before it opens. So, I guess I can officially add being a slug to things that changed when I turned 30.

COURTNEY LOVE AND THE PSYCH EXAM

This I have got to see. I read in the paper that the surviving members of NIRVANA are going to make Courtney Love take a psych test to see if she is competent enough to make business decisions. I wonder if who gets to choose the Psychologist. I mean think about it�if OJ Simpson can convince 12 people that he is not guilty of murder, maybe Courtney can find a shrink that will deem her sane. I just wonder if any shrink in the US would want to be known and the doctor that deemed her to be sane.

WRITERS REMORSE

Some of you have written me to ask me if I was ever nice at my previous job. I can honestly say yes, but only once. Technically, I had �one customer.� His name was Mitchell. He gave his brother cash once, who in turn paid Mitchell�s bill with a check, which bounced. He swore to me that if I kept his service on he would pay the bill tomorrow and bring his brother in to apologize. I must have been in a good mood that day because I said okay.

First thing in the morning Mitchell and his brother were there, cash in hand. I could not believe that his brother actually apologized for bouncing a check, wasting my time, and embarrassing his brother. I was shocked.

Every month he called me to tell me when he would pay his bill, and every month he was on time. He was a really nice guy. I can honestly say, that he was the only customer that was reliable. When he found out that I had quit, he called to say goodbye.

Every other time I cut people slack, it came back to bite me in the butt. Give them and inch and they will take a mile. The worst thing a customer ever did was shoot at my office with a gun. People do strange things when it comes to money. I am a much different person now--a lot nicer and not nearly as evil. Most of the time anyway.

Luckily I LOVE my current job, and am no longer cranky to people. I don�t feel the need to be. I do still write letters of recommendation for my former employees though--for everyone but Robert of course.

The only complaint I have about my current job is people who call me �Sweetie� on the phone. Yuck!! �Listen, Sweetie Blah, blah, blah.� Usually women do this. I hated it when I was a waitress and I hate it even more now.

LITTERMAID

My younger cat hates the sound the Littermaid makes when it is cleaning itself. It is really loud, and he hates it. He puffs out and stares at it. He gets fairly close to it, as if he will pounce on it, but never quite does. I have learned not to go near him during this �state� or he will jump about 6 feet in the air and hide under the bed for an hour. Poor thing. Tormented by kittens and the litterbox. I guess everyone has a little stress in their life.

BUT HE HAS MONEY� I had a conversation with someone yesterday about Date Man. It wasn�t pretty. They were telling me about his �successful� business and the profit of it all. Oh, okay. Now that I know that his business is doing well and that he has a little extra money in his pockets, that changes everything. NOT! Why do people believe that just because someone has money that that will make them more appealing as a person? Why would anyone want to go out with someone who changed their mind about them based on their profit and loss statement. Pathetic. Maybe now I should refer to him as �Sugar Daddy Wanna Be.� Sad but true. I know people who married for money, and none of them were very happy. Money only �fixes� so much. Relationships are tough enough, but when money was your big attraction, what happens when the stockmarket crashes? Bleck.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com