California Rantings

Monday, Apr. 22, 2002 - 4:56 p.m.

So, you have heard about when I should have been fired, when I was in my �last two weeks on this job and don�t care if I get fired� phase, and now the conclusion�people I should have fired, but didn�t.

I do not have any children. For a number of reason, but I have none just the same. Anyway--I had interviewed this woman for a job as a retail sales clerk.

I did not want to hire he because she had no sales experience, and she was not available to work the hours that I needed someone to work. She pulled some strings and got the job by pleading her case to the owner of the business. Fine, whatever, she did not work in my primary office, so I really did not care. Maybe she would surprise me and be a great employee.

Her FIRST day at work was the Monday after Mothers Day. I drove an hour to her store to start training. The first thing out of her mouth is �Sorry I am late, but yesterday was Mothers Day.� It went downhill from there.

Her: �What did your kids do for you for Mother�s Day?�

Me: �I don�t have any children. Here is a copy of your schedule�

Her: �What�s wrong with you? Do you hate kids or something?�

Me: �What?�

Her: �You know, one of those women who puts her career in front of everything and never has kids and regrets it later. Or do you just hate kids?�

Me: �No and no. Now the first form you need to fill out��

Her: �I am just surprised because you are so old and have no children.� (I was 26).

Me: �Look, I am not going to discuss this with you. Either we can start training, or you can go home.�

Her: �Are you mad because you are childless?� That was it� I welled up with fake tears and said�.

Me: �Look, the doctors and I do not know if I can have children, and this is a difficult time for me. I do not want to talk about it because it is painful for me, and this is not the time or the place for it. Please excuse me.� I then ran into the bathroom.

The truth is, I do not know if I can have kids. I have had �problems� in the past, and I have always been afraid to try. I have always known I would have a difficult time, but have never tried to get pregnant, so no hate E-mail over this.

I came out of the bathroom a few moments later, called my boss and told him that she was not interested in working or being trained, and had another trainer come in to try and train her. I should have fired her because she did not want to do anything but sit on the phone and yell at her kids all day. She was fired, but not by me, a week later for stealing.

SHOULD HAVE FIRED #2

Same story, different person. While I was out sick with pneumonia, a new retail person was hired. He did not know me because I had never met him, or talked to him on the phone. I decided to secret shop him. On his third day of work, it went like this�

Him: �Hi, I am the manager here, how can I help you?� (Not even close Buddy, try newbie sales idiot)

Me: �I am looking to purchase model XYZ--what is the best deal you can give me.�

Him: �$19.95 for the equipment and $30 for one year of service.� (About 50% BELOW wholesale).

Me: �Great where do I sign?�

Him: �Just fill out this part blah, blah.�

He signs it and hands me a copy and asks me how I am going to pay for the contract.

Me: �Did you read the name on the contract?�

Him: �Yes, ------ -------.�

Me: �As in your boss ----- --------.�

Him: �What?�

Me: �I want you to tell me why you shouldn�t be fired right now for making up your own pricing.�

Him: �I am the manager here.�

Me: �No, I am the manager here.�

Him: �I knew it was you and I was joking.�

Me: �Really, then explain the four contracts just like this that you sold yesterday.�

Him: �That�s why I am the number one sales person.�

He was fired a month later for stealing, or something like that. I actually quit that day because I was sick of it all. So, take a good look at your boss tomorrow and be grateful that you don't work for me!!

Evil is as evil does.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com