California Rantings

Wednesday, Apr. 10, 2002 - 8:05 a.m.

KILLING TIME UNTIL MY VACATION

Despite the cloudy and rainy weather I woke up in a good mood. I think it has a lot to do with the �Top 5 List� that I worked on last night (see yesterday�s entry for the list and additional details). At long last a positive start to my day.

I am also leaving tomorrow for vacation. I will be back on Monday, but it will be nice to get away for a while. Although I hate leaving the cats with a sitter, it is one of those things that I can not avoid. Besides, they get so excited when I get home that it almost makes leaving well worth it. I once read that animals have no sense of time, and therefore they have no idea how long you have been gone. I do not know if this is true. I think they can tell if you have been gone longer than usual. Maybe they can tell by how many meals they have eaten or something. I say that because they get more excited when I have been gone for two days than when I have gone to the store or something. I just love how snuggly and warm they are when I get home. Nothing like a warm welcome to come home to!

WORK

Today is a travel day for me. I will be gone for a while traveling. Only four hours or so, but that is enough. I have to go to �the city� and I am hoping that the traffic is not too terrible. You never know what the effect of rain can have on the commute. At least the mileage and the toll are tax deductible. I must have taxes on my mind. I hate driving, but at least I will have some time to myself and will be able to listen to the radio (while I usually only do in my car).

THE NEWSPAPER DELIVERER

I do not know if the term �paper boy� applies or not. Every morning, I have to wait until 7:00 to get the paper delivered, and it is either: under a bush in the front yard or on the front yard with the sprinklers going. I have no direct contact with the person that delivers the paper. Everything is done through the mail. I wonder if he/she is a crappy newspaper delivery person, or if I am the last person on the route and they are tired and wanting to go home.

I subscribe to the newspaper to the next town over, primarily because I have found that if a �nonlocal� paper gives a better perspective of what is going on in my town, because they are not personally involved. For example: About two years ago, there was a �cat burglar� that, according to my local paper, was breaking into houses and stealing things. The paper that I subscribed to reported that the burglar had �sexually assaulted� one of the female residents. Two weeks later my local paper admitted the same thing. I live two blocks from where the attack took place, and the only reason I knew about it was because I did not read the local paper. Sad but true.

MY JOB

I really love my job. I get to travel a lot and I either get to write the trip off of my taxes, or they will pay for it. I am going to the Bahamas this week, all expenses paid. I was talking to some friends of mine and they were amazed that I actually liked working. I think there is a positive aspect to this. I work a lot because I like what I do, not because I have to. This is a nice feeling. It is so rare that people truly love going to work in the morning. I have had terrible jobs before, and believe me, I know what it is like to hate work, and the people you work with.

The worst job I ever was as a business consultant. I quit after a few months, and the company filed bankruptcy. I did a lot of contract work, and to this day I feel as though they screwed me out of a lot of pay with their �business deductions.� Luckily I got out before I spent years there.

Speaking of work--I am off to go to work.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com