California Rantings

Sunday, Apr. 07, 2002 - 4:02 p.m.

THE HISTORY CHANNEL

Today on the History Channel they had a special on �Perfect Crimes.� One of the �perfect crimes� was the ZODIAC KILLER. I grew up two towns over from Vallejo, California the location of the first of killings. Although he was killing people a few years before I was born, we were always told as kids to beware of the Zodiac Killer when we would go to Lake Berryessa. I drive past Lake Herman road (where the first two killings occurred) on the way to Danville, when I have to work in that area. Even though this occurred over 30 years ago, it is still fresh in a lot of people�s minds.

It amazes me that he was never caught. There are a lot of unsolved crimes in this area. There are two missing kids that have never been found, the Zodiac Killer, strange things like that. I can not believe that people are able to get away with crime anymore. I can understand in the case of the Zodiac Killer, because it was so many years ago, but now they are so accurate with forensic evidence that it amazes me that any crimes go unsolved.

I have been looking back at events in my life that really created a long term change in who I am. One of these events involves the killing of my Grandfathers friend. He worked out at the prison and was killed by an inmate during a fight. I was eight years old. I really did change as a person in that moment. It was the first time in my life that I can remember being filled with rage and hatred for another person. I think that that is why I was in support of the death penalty for so many years. I could not understand why someone could kill someone in an instance, even without thinking about it, and then spend the next 20 years trying to explain to the world why their life is more valuable than the life they took. The man who killed him is still on death row, and still appealing. Twenty-two years later he is still appealing. Al never had a chance to appeal for his life, yet this man gets twenty-two years to plead for his.

When I was in high school I once asked Ed Kemper (a.k.a. The Hitchhiker Killer) if he believed in the death penalty (we were on a field trip for criminal justice class and it was a panel discussion with prisoners). As I recall he said he did, but not in his case. (Although this was 14 years ago, and I may not be remembering correctly if he was the one who responded that way). I bet you never knew how exciting life in a prison town could be!

CLEANING

I actually cleaned today. I am not finished, but I actually did some deep cleaning. Cleared out the cob webs from the outside of the door front, and scrubbed the hallway floor. It did make me feel better. I tend to get so scattered and am a true packrat. I have a difficult time throwing anything away. I am the queen of momentos. I keep everything, except momentos from ex-boyfriends. Once you are out of my life, you are out. I do not know if this is a good thing or a bad thing. I do not understand why you would want to keep things around to remind you of a love that died. I know people who keep everything that every boyfriend has ever given them. Even the ex-boyfriends that they hate and would never consider talking to again, much less reconciling. I say, if you don�t want them in you life, get rid of everything associated with them. I am always tempted to ask them how often they read the love letters their 7th grade boyfriend gave them. Probably never.

I better get back to cleaning before I lose my mood to do so.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com