California Rantings

Tuesday, Apr. 25, 2006 - 8:16 p.m.

Hello Dear Readers :-)

I am finally back from my self imposed exile and am feeling better. The truth is, clearing out my grandmothers house finally got to me and with the lack of sunshine for four months sent me into a deep case of the gloomy-doomy dumps. Today it was my job to go through old photos and put them in piles based on simple things like:

Very old versus "modern" and

People I know versus people I have no clue who in the heck they are

Etc.

Apparently I inherited my packrat gene from my Grandmother because it took all day and I barely made a dent. I did, however, get to see some great photos of my Grandfather (from his WW2 days) and saw letters he wrot home. He died when I was 12 and I swear I have never seen his handwriting before. Although we were very close, he never wrote me anything (I lived down the street) and it was strange to see it. It was also strange to see him as a young man (in his early 20's) and not the older person I knew so well.

I still have dreams about him where I swear I can "smell" him and feel his sweater against my cheek, like it did when I would hug him goodbye before heading home.

I also came across a lot of photos of relatives whose names have long been forgotten. I wonder at what point in the future I will be a face in a photo that no one can remember anymore. I figure the photos of the people I do not know are at least 80 years old, so maybe (since technology is a lot better now) 150 years? (Although if D-Land is still around then I REALLY pity the people who come across my site!!!

My great uncle was a minister, who apparently liked to draw pictures of people kissing in the back of French books from when he attended Berkeley at the turn of the century. And the few notes and scrapbooks that my Grandmothers sister (who died when she was 12) that remained we hard to look at. She was someone we never really talked about because, even after 70 years, it was still difficult for my Grandmother to talk about.

Enough rambling. I am actually feeling very good today--better than I have in a while. Go call your Grandparents, or someone you have thought about but haven't call for a while.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com