California Rantings

Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2005 - 1:50 p.m.

Call off the search, I am still alive. We have been moving the office from the ghetto to a completely new town, and that has taken forever. At least now I am only five blocks from my house. So, no more drunks leaning on my car all day, and no more �babys daddy jealousy drama turning into a bat fight with twenty women across the street on the first of the month crisis� type of things. Now I can only look forward to people expecting me to be able to meet them at the office �in five mins� because I live so close. Thank goodness I have no answering machine at home for them to leave me messages of need!

I did cook in the kitchen at the church again last week. The loud �I hate carrots� pregnant woman kept calling me �sweetie� (which I hate it when people call me �sweetie� or �baby� or �honey� or �sugar�--bleck). All night I had to hear -- �Sweetie--you are out of sugar on the coffee table� or �Sweetie I really prefer �Splendah� to �Equahl� so could you look for some �Splendah� that would be wonderful.� (Followed by �Did you find that �Splendah� yet?� five mins later.) She also said something like �Next week Sweetie, please add more butter to the veggies.� Luckily I told her I was not cooking next week, so there was nothing I could do about any of her requests. There were only two really drunk people there, and they sat in the back and left everyone alone. I did burn my middle finger to which my cousin said, �It looks like you have burned the flip out of your flipping finger!� (My cousin does not cuss, so she will say �flip� instead of the �real� F word.)

I would say that 97.5% of the people I cooked for were nice, and frankly the outspoken 2.5% usually make me laugh more than anything else, which is good. My Dad drank way too much, so the drunks do not bother me, unless they are fighting or screaming �Waitress--I need more coffee.�

Speaking of my Dad--I was trying to figure out when the last time I talked to him was. I think it was either Memorial Day or Labor Day of 1996 or 1997. I know it was a three day weekend because he wanted money ( a lot of money) and I told him I could not get to any cash (he wanted cash and only cash!!!!!!) until Tuesday. The strange thing was that at the time I had no idea that it very well could be the last conversation we ever had together. Or for at least a decade. If I had known that I would have paid closer attention to the conversation and more specifically the last thing he said to me, which was probably something about how disappointed he was in the fact that I would not do exactly what he wanted me to do. I do remember my ex-hubby saying something like �I am glad I never met him.�

I can totally understand why my Father left. He is an alcoholic / codeine and gambling addict that wanted to be able to structure his life around those three things, and being married and a Father stood in the way of that lifestyle. I did go to visit him in another state for a few years after he left, but eventually the contact faded away to nothing, and now I have no idea where he is. I would like to think that he sobered up, found a good person to spend his life with and has a stable job. Deep down, I doubt that. I mean, the truth is he could be out there somewhere, at a soup kitchen waiting for a hot meal when money is tight in between his military retirement paycheck deposits.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com