California Rantings

Tuesday, Oct. 11, 2005 - 10:13 a.m.

Okay, I am ticked!

Every three months I get Depo Provera shots for my ovarian cysts. I have for almost ten years now. TEN YEARS!!!! I go to my OB/GYN for my shot on Friday and am told "we are no longer carrying that so you will have to either go to Pl@nned P@renthood or find a pharmacy that carries it and bring it back."

Um, excuse me??? You could have told me this when you decided not to carry it A MONTH AGO!

P-P@renthood is down the street so I drive down there, only to find out that because I am employed and have health insurance (very crappy insurance that cover nothing) they want:

$60 for the office visit

$60 for a pregnancy test

$45 for the shot and some other fees.

So basically $165 + for a shot that costs $40 because I am employed. Plus, they can not fit me in that day, but I could come in on Tuesday. Whatever!

So I called Longs and they can fill the prescription, BUT my OB/GYN is gone until Monday and he will have to call it in.

I picked up the prescription today (for $67) and have to go in to the office this afternoon for them to inject me.

I am pissed because had I known this last month, I could have taken care of it before my "due date" (I only have a five day window) and not frantically trying to find a solution on my own. Plus, I pay my insurance company $90 for the shot and apparently they do not pay my OB/GYN for it. Where in the hell does my money go? Who knows. I think that after paying taxes for decades I should be able to go to a state clinic and get a shot in a situation like this. Not pay on some stupid sliding scale that would have probably given it to me for free if I was unemployed. I also do not think I should pay $60 for a pregnancy test that I could get for $15 (in a box of two no less) at any supermarket.

I pay $92 / month for insurance with a $2000 deducatable. I do not have a primary care physician because the one time I needed one (I had pneumonia) they wanted me to pay UP FRONT $400 for the office visit because I had not used up my $2000 deductable. Since I can not take penicillian and did not have the $400 I cancelled the appointment. I refuse to pay someone a ton of money to tell me what I already know and to not be able to take the medication for it anyway.

GRRRRR!!!!

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com