California Rantings

Tuesday, Sept. 06, 2005 - 10:31 a.m.

Big long, Tuesday morning rant--so you have been warned.

The narrowmindedness of some people makes me sick. I mean I wonder how people can live in this sheltered little world without the ability to see anything from any other perspective than their own. This past Saturday my cousin and I went to donate blood (this blood drive was scheduled a month ago at the movie theater and was not a "jump on the disaster be a good person" thing). I was waiting in line with two white, employed men who were discussing "New Orleans".

Man #1: What kind of stupid person doesn't evacuate a disaster?"

Man #2: I know--if the mayor told me to leave I would get in my truck and go.

#1: Exactly--why stay?

Blah, blah, blah. After five mins of listening to this crap I said

What about the women with small children who rely on public transportation who could not "jump in the truck and go?" There should have been some sort of public transportation available, but there wasn't.

Well, don't have children you can't afford.

Me: That goes both ways. Each one of those kids has a father that did not come and get his child. Or did not have the money or car or whatever to leave.

Well, if it were me I would have gathered up my kids and WALKED if I had to.

Me: Really? Walked where? To Texas? One two days? How exactly would you have walked with a five year old, a three year old and a newborn? And how far could you go in a day and a half.

I would have done whatever it took.

Me: Okay, donate all of the money you have to charity and then WALK to San Francisco. Go ahead. No car, no money and three kids. I want to see how far you get.

Man: I am just saying...I would have found a way. In America, in this day and age, people should be able to take care of themselves.

Me: You are right, they should, but not everyone can. What about people in hospitals and nursing homes? If you had no car and no money what would you have done?

Something more than sit out the storm.

Granted we all make mistakes. There were definately people (like my idiot Aunt who did not leave her house in Biloxi -- who had a car and could have left, but didn't) who made a bad decision. Believe me, if all of my bad decisions (especially my relationship decisions) cost me everything in life I would not want a bunch of idiots standing around saying "well you should have know he would turn out to be an idiot--you deserve it" without even being able to consider than not everyone has the same means to make good decisions.

The truly sad part is that I had another similar conversation with two other people. One of those idiots actually said to me "They should just give them water treatment pills like the military has. I use those all the time when I go camping." Alright sunshine--then YOU go to New Orleans and treat that water and drink it. Water treatment pills can only do so much. His answer "Well, no I wouldn't want to have to do that."

I would have to be a person that lacks compassion. I will try and be a little more cheerful tomorrow.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com