California Rantings

Saturday, Jun. 15, 2002 - 9:06 a.m.

Which Titanic Character Are You?

NOW I AM DESPERATE

I know, I know... A Titanic Quiz--I need better ones, but Google.com can only do so much!

SATURDAY MORNING

I took too many sleeping pills last night and slept all the way through to 8:15. I usually am up and going by 6:00 on the weekends. I am sure that the day will go by so much faster because of all of the sleep I got.

FREUD DOLLS

My Aunt called me the other day to say that she had seen "Freud Action Figure Dolls" on TV. I am a Jungian, so needless to say my library is filled with books entitled "why Freud was wrong" and things like that. I was hoping that they would have the full line of "Psych Action Figures" but unfortunately, only Freud was available. I bought a few for gag gifts and can hardly wait..he comes with a cigar and everything. I can just see the commercials now..."Mom, I want the Freud Action Figure for Christmas." They were selling for $20 on ebay, but I found them for $6 on the internet. How I love to shop on the internet!

TTFN

Friday, Jun. 14, 2002 - 8:32 a.m.

center>


Which X-Files Character Are You? Take the Quiz

ONE SHIFT AWAY FROM THE WEEKEND

I thought this quiz was appropriate since I decided to buy (on ebay of course) the first five episodes of the X-files on DVD. I stopped watching after Mulder left the show anyway, so todays quiz made me happy.

THE HOUSE

I signed all the final paperwork yesterday for the house. I must have signed my name 500 times and then initialed that it really was my signature. I am officially $260,000 in debt. I am moving a week from Monday. Today I am going to contact all of the utilities to switch over everything. I still don't believe that I am moving, but everyday it gets easier to believe. I guess I am officially an adult now.

THANKS PERISCOPEBOY

for the birtday counter. Although mine is a long way off, maybe this will make turning 31 easier. Not as much denial :-)

THE PHONE MAN --No relation to DATE MAN

I have to wait for the Phone Man to repair one of our work lines sometimes "between 8 and 12 noon." The recording said that I could choose to repair the phone myself, but if I knew how to do that, why would I be calling the phone company at all. I wish I could tell people that "our meeting will start sometime between 8 and noon, so just be patient and wait." No such luck. Just like the house inspector yesterday. It cost me $262.50 to have someone from the city come over to the new house and say "Yup, it is a house." I want to make $70 a min to "inspect things." I am in the wrong business.

PART 2

I am in the middle of watching Oprah and am in tears. It is about some of the fathers that were killed on September 11th. It is so heart wrenching to watch all of these children crying and talking about how much they love and miss their Dads. It makes me wonder if the pain will ever go away. I have such a hard time dealing with the September 11th tragedy and yet I do not know anyone directly who was killed. I can not imagine what those families are going through. It is always in the back of my mind.

When I was a kid, my Grandmother went to England and took pictures of some of the damage that was still around from WW2. I could not imagine what life would be like to live in a country where a war was being fought. Although this is not quite the same, I understand how scary and insecure you would feel all of the time. I understand that now. I wonder if I will ever feel "safe" again. Maybe not completely.

TTFN

Thursday, Jun. 13, 2002 - 12:28 p.m.

click to take it!


When it comes to being mysterious, that's what you do best. You like to leave others puzzled and speak in riddles. You're not out there for the fame and fortune, you're just being yourself, doing what you do best. You're strong and courageous, and you're always the leader of the pack. You're skillful; people respect you, and you respect people.

HOUSE INSPECTION

Today I have to meet with the city inspector for what I hope is the last inspection on the new house. Escrow closes tomorrow. It hasn't hit me yet, despite all of the boxes that have invaded my apartment.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY PERISCOPEBOY

I know you will enjoy your smoke-free life :-) I will think good "no more smoking" thoughts for you.

TTFN

Wednesday, Jun. 12, 2002 - 5:03 p.m.


Take the Which My So-Called Life Character are you most like? Quiz


LAST MOMENT CANCELATION

I was supposed to work tonight, but she canceled, so I am home and very happy because I am actually tired. I am an insomniac and hope to get some sleep tonight. I might be able to watch Bernie Mac for a change.

BETTER MOOD

I am in a much better mood today, probably because I am not working tonight. The cats and I are going to relax and enjoy a nice dinner. As a psych major (or former one at least) I can say that emotional fluctuation is good, but actual mood swings are terrible.

THE DATE IS BACK ON

I am trying to work out my schedule to go out with the guy from last week. I may have to put aside my workaholic tendencies to go out and do something social. I know, shocking, but true. When I first got divorced, I swore to myself that I would stay out of "relationships" for a while, to give myself some space. I was set up with a guy named "Mark" who was a nice guy, but too clingy and not very aggressive. I guess you could say we were "dating" but I would cringe when he referred to me as his girlfriend. He objected to my odd work schedule, and eventually things ended. I think this was the first "nice guy" I ever really dated and I think I honestly did not know how to respond to it. I am going to work on assuming that I am going to get my heartbroken.

TTFN

Tuesday, Jun. 11, 2002 - 2:33 p.m.

NO CHARACTER QUIZ TODAY

I know that you are all disappointed at that one :-)

STRANGE PEOPLE IN THE WAITING ROOM

Yesterday I had to pick up a friend of mine at the hospital, but her appointment ran long and I had to wait in the waiting room. I was trying to read, but a woman talked the entire time (at least an hour) about the father of her children. I have no idea who she was talking to, because she wasn't sitting near anyone, and no one said anything back to her. Maybe it was her "imaginary child support lawyer."

Since she was the only one talking, all of the following are her:

I knew he was a loser the first time I got pregnant when he told me to get an abortion because he didn't want any kids. He was even worse during my second and third pregnancies.

Now that my kids are old enough to talk, I taught them to run up to him and scream "Daddy, Daddy, I hope you brought money because we are starving."

Just last night he was trying to crawl into bed with me, and if I wasn't so mad at his girlfriend I TOTALLY wouldn't have slept with him. That will teach her.

I keep telling him, "Dude, everytime I give you money, your kids have to go without food," but that doesn't even bother him at all.

Do you like these shoes, they were on sale for $99.99.

Blah, blah, blah. She went on like this for an hour. I hope she wasn't talking to me because I would have asked her if she were waiting to be sterilized or something like that. I would hope that if I were talking like that, that someone would slap some sense into me.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com