California Rantings

Wednesday, Apr. 24, 2002 - 10:28 a.m.

NO REALLY, I AM WORKING�

I read once that in Japanese companies, if they see you not working, they won�t bother you because they think you are problem solving, but when you are �working� then you can be bothered because you are not �thinking.� The complete opposite of America, where if they catch you �thinking� they feel the need to bother you, but not if you are typing a lot and looking at reports and things. It is best if you start your sentences with �I�m sorry I was focused on something when you started talking to me.� I LOVE the telephone headset things that prevent people from knowing if you are on the phone or not. A regular handset you have to hold up to your ear, but the �handsfree� headset can provide the perfect cover, especially if you are �on hold.� Just say things like �Yes, I will continue to hold,� then turn to the person who has entered into your office and say �I�m sorry I was on hold and couldn�t hear what you are saying.�

I have a degree in Spanish. An A.A. that I earn 10 years ago. Haven�t spoken the language in about that same amount of time. I can order food, and get directions to the nearest American Embassy, but other than that, I am clueless. Every so often we get E-mails in the office for me to �translate� on the spot. Luckily I found an online translator that makes it look as though I know what I am talking about. �It says something about missing freight and not being able to get through to the Distributor.� I have learned to stall until I can copy and paste it into the online translator. As Chandler Bing would say �Could I be any more lazy?�

I have learned one thing about being bilingual. Whenever you are on hold with a company, ask for the Spanish speaking operator (Para los personas que necesita ayuda in espanol, marque dos). They Spanish speaking operators MUST speak English. Tell them you don�t know why they transferred you to them, but since you have them on the line, they can help you. Cuts the waiting time in half. Sad but true.

SPRING CLEANING

Now that the weather is getting warmer, it is time to start Spring cleaning. Mostly this involves putting winter clothes away and summer clothes out. I hate Spring cleaning. I am not the type of person who sits around being happy at the fact that everything is immaculate. It would be like living in a museum.

HOUSE SHOPPING

I am supposed to see a house today at 1:00. I swear I should have been a realtor, because of the SIX realtors I have contacted this past week, only ONE called me back. It must be nice to have so much money that you don�t need any additional incoming funds. Anyway, this realtor had to make an appointment to see the house I want, and the realtor with the listing said:

�Do they have any money, or is this a waste of time for me.�

I am thinking to myself �What in the hell is that? Do I look like the type of person who wants to take time off of work to look at a house I can�t afford?� I mean really. I can understand people who house shop on the weekend, out of boredom, but I would think that someone taking the time off from work would be pretty serious.

This house has been on the market for over a year, and I can now understand why. I hate the fact that if I buy this house that he will get any money out of it. He is basically being paid to be rude and judgmental. I am tempted to tell him that the house isn�t big enough, and I was looking for something a little more pricey.

MY ANSWER TO YESTERDAY�S QUESTION�

For those of you who missed the question:

"If you could save the life of six people by sacrificing the life of one person, why don't we sacrifice one healthy person to save the life of six people who need organ transplants?"

I am still working on my answer, but will have it done by tonight. Imagine how busy I will look at work while trying to get it done by quitting time!

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com