California Rantings

Tuesday, Apr. 23, 2002 - 4:56 p.m.

I tried to type this offline and TWICE microsoft works shut me down with an error message. Third time is a charm I hope!

PHILOSOPHY AND OTHER STUFF

My first year of graduate school was a strange experience. We had to take a class on business philosophy (hence the Frederick Taylor reference from a few days ago). One of the topics of discussion was a question similar to this one:

"If you could save the life of six people by sacrifising the life of one person, why don't we sacrifice one healthy person to save the life of six people who need organ transplants?"

If I were an organized person, I would know where the paper I wrote on this topic was, and would know the answer that I wrote all those years ago. And if I were not 30, I would remember the answer I gave, but now I have no idea. I am not even sure how I would answer this question.

Obviously we can not go around killing healthy people for their organs, but it is an interesting question. Anyone have an answer for me? I will think about it tonight during my boring meeting and will post my response tomorrow.

OPRAH

I do not like Dr. Phil and rarely watch Oprah when he is on her show. I feel that he is too judgmental and that he takes sides with people, which is never good when you are in counseling. Anyway--since today's topic on Maury did not interest me at all, I decided to watch Oprah.

Why is it that men never feel the need to complain about being married to their career at the sacrifise of a family life? I have NEVER seen a talk show which deals with men and their regret over choosing their jobs over a wife and children. I can hear it now "I am Steve. I am 35, the CEO of XYZ company, have discovered the cure for cancer, but I feel unfulfilled because I am single and childless and I have to ask myself...was it worth it?"

Do women truly believe that they have no value unless they have a child? This really bothers me for some reason.

No, you can't have it all.

DATING SERVICES

As a joke (I hope) a friend of mine sent me an article about a singles group for people with graduate degrees. No graduate degree, no entry. How pathetic. I can see their nametags now "HELLO---I am Mike and I have a M.A." "HELLO---I am Angela and I have an Ed D."

"I know that you have a wonderful personality, are loving, caring, attentive and good looking, but you didn't go to grad school so you are not good mate material, sorry. Maybe if you go to school and get a very expensive pice of paper to hang on your wall I could consider breeding with you, but until then, sorry." I wonder if the medical doctors will have a seperate room so that they will not have to mingle with the "riff raff" that only have Phd's.

I should go so that I can ignore the people who only have Masters degrees.

I also read somewhere that something like 45% of men who use online dating services are married. How pathetic is that? I have respect for the men who place ads like "Married man seeks discreet female for affair." At least the women knows what she is getting into. I have no respect for men who are lying to their wives and to women who are looking for someone special in their lives. I guess that gives you almost a 50-50 chance of finding someone single online!

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com