California Rantings

Saturday, Apr. 20, 2002 - 4:13 p.m.

THE OSBOURNES

What can I say? I pray that they release this series on DVD as �Season 1 Unedited.� I was glad to read on MSNBC that �The Osbournes� has officially surpassed professional wrestling as the #1 show on cable. I must admit (but not in the same way that I admit that I watch 90210) that I am hooked on this show. If only my daily life would be so exciting. I couldn�t cuss that much if I really, really tried.

The sad thing is that they are probably more of a �normal� family than most. My family never sat down and ate together, except on major holidays. We never really sat down and talked things out. There really is a lot of love and affection displayed on that show. I still want to see what could not be aired on cable though. It must be nice to have a life so interesting that it would become the #1 show on cable.

INTRODUCING�DRIVE THROUGH MAN

Being that I was too lazy to make lunch, I decided to go get a veggie burrito at the drive thru place down the street. As I gave the man in the drive thru my money, he asked me my name. I live in a town with about 90,000, but it still has small town roots, and since I graduated with like 700 people, it is not uncommon for me to run into people I went to school with, but I don�t know. So, I told him my name, and this is how the rest of the conversation went:

DriveThru Man (a.k.a. DTM) �You are beautiful.�

Me: �Thanks.� (Mind you--no make up and flat hair)

DTM: �Are you married.�

Me: �Yes.� (So I lied)

DTM: �He must be a lucky guy then.�

Me: �Thanks�

DTM: �If you change your mind, there is something in the bag for you.� As he hands me my burrito.

Me: �Thanks--I hope it is extra salsa.� And off I drive.

In the bag is his phone number and the hours he works.

Quadruple ICK!!! Change my mind about what? Being married. I can just see the conversation now. �Hi honey, I got the phone number of a man at the drive thru and I have changed my mind about being married.�

Why would anyone want to date someone who is married, and if I did leave my husband, why in the hell would I trust someone who knowingly picks up on 1) women at his job and 2) women who are married. Plus, how could he trust me if I ran around on my husband with him.

It is a good thing that the food was for me. What if I were a �gopher� getting food for my boss, or for my HUSBAND??? Talk about class and style. Can�t a girl just get lunch without being hit on???

Maybe I should look on the bright side--at least he has a job. I wonder how many women he has successfully picked up while working the drive thru.

MAJOR EVENTS IN LIFE

With the death of �Alice in Chains� lead singer I began to think of all of the deaths and near deaths that have changed things in my life.

ELVIS PRESLEY-- I was five when Elvis died. I heard on the news that �The King� had died, and I told my neighbor that I thought we had a President and not a King. She rolled her eyes and must have thought I was the stupidest kid on the block.

JOHN LENNON--The first assassination that I remember what I was doing at the moment I found out that John Lennon had been shot. I was sitting in the living room watching MASH 4077 when they broke in with the news. For years after that I lived in fear of �breakthrough� news broadcasts. It was the first time that the death of someone that I did not know personally really hurt me. I was a very depressed nine year old.

RONALD REAGAN -- I was in the grade school when he was shot. They sent us home from school and my Mother asked my why and when I told her that the President had been shot, she had a really strange JFK flashback and yelled at me for joking about such a thing. She did not believe that I was telling the truth until I turned on the TV for her.

KURT COBAIN -- I was visiting EVIL EX in southern California when they announced on the news that a body had been found in his house, and they he had been missing for a few days. I was really upset when he died. I still believe that he was murdered, but that may never be known.

It must be strange to know that when you die, people who have never met you will mourn you. People still mourn Elvis, and John Lennon and Kurt Cobain. Strange but true. I wonder how many people will remember what they were doing when they heard of my death.

On that cheery note--TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com