California Rantings

Saturday, Apr. 06, 2002 - 8:40 a.m.

SATURDAY MORNING

I am starting the day off going to breakfast with a friend. I am (pathetic but true) watching 90210 as a distraction while I try and organize myself. Luckily I actually have cash in my wallet and do not need to go to the ATM. I try not to carry cash with me because I send it if I have it. At least with the ATM I can track my spending for my taxes. Don�t get me started on taxes--or maybe you should!

THE WEATHER

Finally, a little of the California sunshine that I have been waiting for. I am hoping that the weather gets warm enough for me to transplant my seedlings. As soon as I think it is warm enough, a cold front comes through. I am still waiting to see if my 2 pounds tomatoes really will be.

POSITIVE THINKING

Instead of my normally �negative� comments about life in general I am going to try and look at things from a more positive stance. I can remember when I was being treated for depression back in the mid 90�s I was supposed to try and find something positive in every situation. Believe me, that is not always and easy thing to do. I know that I sometimes look for negative things in the world to justify my not being happy all the time. For example--every morning I log onto rotten.com to see all of the terrible things that have happened on that date. What a lovely way to start the day. Then there is the daily rotten.com, which tells of the terrible things in the newspapers (from around the world). There are two cases of severe animal abuse which really put me into a bad mood. I think I need to stop reading that (at least at the beginning of my day anyway).

WEIGHT LOSS

I am not going to weigh myself until the 15th. A few of you have asked me about my weight loss. I am 5�7� and weigh about 145. I go to the gym a lot, and am very tone, I am just not quite tone enough. I am a size 8-10 (that all depends on the clothing maker). I would like to weigh about 130 (although 125 would be nicer). I am trying not to obsess about the number on the scale, but that is not always easy. My highest weight was 165, and that was after my divorce and nonstop eating for about a year. I have found that when I am a strict vegan, and do not eat a lot of processed foods I lose weight faster. At this point I am just happy that I fit into my shorts from last summer. There is nothing worse then having to buy anything in a larger size.

IDIOT VANDALS

Tonight could be the night is the weather stays warm. It is supposed to be in the 80�s today and warm tonight, so we shall see. It is also the last �party night� before school starts up again, so that could also be an influence. I found out last night that one of them threatened my neighbor with a knife. I tell you I am going to call the cops if they do anything out of line this weekend. My landlord had the couch hauled off to the city dump, so that ends that portion of the problem. At least until something else comes up.

DAY LIGHT SAVINGS TIME

Yick! Although I understand the need for it, that doesn�t mean that I like it. Now I will be getting up at 6:30 instead of 5:30 so maybe that is a good thing. (My attempt at thinking positively). I wish they changed the time early Saturday morning so that I have two days to adjust instead of just one.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com