California Rantings

Saturday, Apr. 06, 2002 - 7:06 p.m.

What I accomplished today--NOTHING. The day isn�t over yet though. Whatever!

THE MOVIES

My friend and I went to see the movie THE PANIC ROOM. Not really what I expected. A really good movie though. Funny in parts, which is what I caught me off guard. I think one of the people in it is the actor who played Jordan in the TV show �My So-Called Life.� I really liked it though. I liked it better than IN THE BEDROOM.

I am a very picky person when it comes to movies. I nitpick on details. So much so, my Aunt will not go to the movies with me unless I promise to keep my mouth shut. (For example, in the movie KATE AND LEOPOLD I was critical of two things:

1) Leopold did not invent the elevator

2) He made mention of Jack the Ripper, who killed people in 1888, when this movie took place a few years before than meaning that he could never have known about Jack the Ripper.

She always says to me �It is just a movie� and �Don�t take it so seriously, movies are supposed to be fun and entertaining.� I just like finding mistakes in movies. I love the webpage movie-mistakes.com. I can understand why it would be irritating to go to the movies with someone like me, but I just can�t help it, Maybe I should have gotten a job looking for movie mistakes.

REAL ESTATE

I am still looking to buy a house. The market still sucks, but there has to be something out there. I do not know how people move to California from other places. How do you move from a place where you can buy a nice house for $120,000 to a place where you can not buy a condo for under $150,000. Even in a really crappy neighborhood.

They are building new apartments here in town and some of them will rent for $1500 for a three bedroom 1.5 bath place. I can remember when an expensive mortgage on a house was less than $1000, and now apartments are going for that much.

MY LOVE LIFE-- or the lack thereof

I did not talk to my friend online today. Used a different account so I would not have to talk to him today. I am still mad that he adduced that we were going out last night without asking me about my plans. This is what I get for being stupid and contacting him again.

I wonder why a torture myself this way. At least �date man� has stopped calling me and (cross my fingers) may have finally gotten the hint. (Of course now that I have mentioned it he will call me tomorrow morning at like 8:00 or something.) I do complement his determination, but not at the sacrifice of my sanity.

Maybe someday someone that I am interested in will be interested back. Until I will continue to dodge men like �date man� and, in moments of weakness, IM people that I know I shouldn�t.

TRUST AND ANGER

I have found that I really struggle with trust and instant anger. I am beginning to believe that these truly are acts of self defense. (A rock feels no pain, and an island never cries). I think that it is much more difficult to be vulnerable and trust that the people you care about will not hurt you (eventually) than to work from the belief that all relationships are painful and will eventually end in heartbreak. I can not remember the last time that I assumed that someone was looking out for my best interest. That seems so strange to me. I didn�t use to be this way. I used to trust in people and want to be a part of society where everything is great UNTIL something bad happens, not good things happen in between bad things.

Maybe this is why I am home on a Saturday night cleaning and doing taxes.

TTFN

OKINAWA The WeatherPixieLos Angeles The WeatherPixieLONDONThe WeatherPixie

#Veggie Blogs?

moon phases

guestmap
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

ARHCIVES "Everything from the beginning of time!!!"

Contact Info

Diaryland

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This site is a member of WebRing. To browse visit here.

hosted by DiaryLand.com